Item added to your basket.

Steven Julien
Catalogue Number
Release Date
27 April 2018

Bloodline: the 2018 album from Apron Records boss and most-respected DJ, Steven Julien aka Funkineven

The new release features 7 tracks and follows Julien’s critically acclaimed debut album, Fallen. Released in 2016, the autobiographical LP was a bold new direction for Julien, and the first release under his birth name. Over the years, the Apron Records boss’ bold, experimental electronics, jagged club cuts and outside-the-box collaborations have seen him carve out a lane all of his own making. His debut LP was divided into two musically contrasting sides, and told the tale of a fallen angel though jazz-fusion, chiming soundscapes and dark acid-tinged techno.

Since his album release, Julien has continued his creative streak by playing across the globe, from Tokyo, Seoul and Shanghai to Montreal and Melbourne, and further developing his label, which released a string of underground 12”s in 2017 from the likes of Max Graef, Hanna, Molinaro and more.

On ‘Bloodline’, Steven continues the soundtrack style mood of ‘Fallen’ – channeling ominous analog techno, drifting synth-house masterpieces, warm soul and hints of new age. Both the title and artwork is a nod to the influence of Julien’s family on his rich musical world and distinct nonconformist style, explaining how: “the influence my family has given me growing up and my ancestors from Africa to native Indians from the Caribbean, has all played a big part in the music I create.”

Recorded in Apron Studios based in East London, each track on ‘Bloodline’ also features a tr808 or a piece of a 808, as a dedication to the iconic Japanese engineer Ikutaro Kakehashi, who passed away April 2017. The much-loved Roland founder and TR-808 creator revolutionised electronic music in the 1980s and 90s.

“Steven Julien is on a hell of a creative run” - NPR

“It’s easy to make moody electronic music, but it’s harder, and riskier, to pull off something as stark as “Fallen” - Pitchfork

“Julien's most musically accomplished work to date” - Resident Advisor

“ of the capital’s most promising electronic artists of the last half decade” - FACT

Read More
  1. 1 Hunt 3:01 Steven Julien Buy
  2. 2 Roll Of The Dice 5:17 Steven Julien Buy
  3. 3 Bloodline 5:23 Steven Julien Buy
  4. 4 Apache 4:08 Steven Julien Buy
  5. 5 Queen of Ungilsan 7:20 Steven Julien Buy
  6. 6 IDK 4:00 Steven Julien Buy
  7. 7 Temple Rd 0:51 Steven Julien Buy
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.